Home » Becoming a Truck Driver » Types of CDL » CDL HAZMAT Endorsement

CDL HAZMAT Endorsement

The USA PATRIOT Act prohibits states from issuing a CDL license to operate a commercial motor vehicle transporting hazardous materials unless the Secretary of Transportation has determined the individual does not pose a security risk.

The term hazardous materials refers to hazardous substances, hazardous wastes, marine pollutants and elevated temperature material. There are 2 types of endorsements dealing with HAZMAT, H and X.

H – Transporting Hazardous Material

X – Transporting Hazardous Material in a Tank

Drivers seeking to obtain, renew or transfer a hazardous materials endorsement on a state-issued CDL must pass the TSA Hazardous Material Endorsement Threat Assessment Program. The risk assessment includes checks of criminal history records, legal status, and relevant international databases.

CDL HAZMAT Endorsement Requirements

  • Completion of a HAZMAT knowledge test
  • Completion of a Federal Security Threat Assessment
  • Proof of U.S. citizenship or appropriate immigration status
  • FBI fingerprint check
  • Federal criminal history background check; and
  • Additional fees for fingerprinting and background check

HAZMAT Employer Training

Upon hire, HAZMAT employers are required to train employees in the following:

  • General awareness and familiarization training in the purpose behind HAZMAT requirements
  • Function-specific training to teach employees the knowledge, skills and abilities of their job
  • Safety training to provide information concerning the hazardous materials in the workplace, as well as personal protection measures
  • Every HAZMAT employee must complete security training that covers the risks associated with the job and the methods to improve job security

Jump to: HAZMAT practice test

More Reading