Home » Types of CDL Licenses: Class A, B & C Included

Types of CDL Licenses: Class A, B & C Included

 In Trucking Blog, Trucking Tips

The 3 major classifications of CDL licenses are Class A, Class B and Class C. With a Class A CDL license a driver can use a commercial vehicle (C.M.V.) to pull a trailer over 10,000 pounds. The Class B license allows the CMV driver to pull a trailer under 10,000 pounds. And a Class C license covers large passenger vehicles and vehicles used to haul HAZMAT.

Class A CDL License

A Class A CDL license is needed for any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 pounds or more. When operating a towed commercial vehicle, the gross weight of the vehicle includes the tractor and trailer combination. However in the case of the Class A license, the trailer has to weigh in excess of 10,000 lbs.

Read more: Class A CDL License

Class B CDL License

The Class B CDL is the second heaviest weight class, with commercial motor vehicles (CMVs) weighing more than 26,001 pounds and trailers weighing less than 10,000 pounds.

Read more: Class B CDL License

Class C CDL License

Class C License – Large passenger vehicles and vehicles used to haul hazardous materials are covered by a Class C CDL. Class C licenses are required for vehicles that carry more than 16 passengers (including the driver). Any vehicle carrying hazardous materials require a placard. Selective agents also require a Class C CDL to operate.

Read: Types of CDL License & Endorsements

Leave a Comment

how to become certified forklift operator